Monday, October 22, 2007

Keiichiro Shibuya - Filmachine Phonics

from Vital Weekly # 566:

My Japanese is still not up to speed to read any of the liner notes on this CD, but in conversation I picked up some of the ideas behind. 'Filmachine' is an installation piece for 24 speakers that surround the listener and on this CD there is the soundtrack to this.
Of course it's not easy to capture something that is played on twenty four speakers and reduce that to two speakers, but when played on headphones you can get a sense of the spatial work.
Shibuya uses field recordings which are heavily processed through max/msp patches and creates partly a dense layered sound scape, with something that sounds like airplanes and partly a more rhythm based piece (although the latter only on a small level).
On these headphones those parts work best in terms of spatial division. On speakers however the more grainy 'airplane' sound work quite nice. When released now as a CD, it is cut off from the installation, and we have to enjoy it from the perspective of a CD release, and no longer as a 24 speaker installation. As this is perhaps a bit short, but it's altogether a very fine release.
(Frans de Waard)

Label: Atak
Cat. #: ATAK010
Format: CD
Release date: 2007

01 - Data Logi/Tm_Vertical And Diffusion (3:00)
02 - Jet Horizontal/Variation Of Aggression (3:00)
03 - CA_r18 (3:19)
04 - CA_r110/Guernica_War Piece (6:02)
05 - Logistic White Haze_Invisible Film And Machine (4:38)

Previous releases:
  • ATAK000 (2002, Atak, ATAK000)
  • Untitled (2003, Atak, ATAK002) (w/ Yuji Takahashi)
  • ATAK008 (2006, Atak, ATAK008) (w/ Norbert Möslang, Toshimaru Nakamura)
  • Signal To Noise Vol.1 (2006, For 4 Ears, CD 1763) (w/ Jason Kahn, Norbert Möslang, Günter Müller, Maria)

Keiichiro Shibuya + Takashi Ikegami - Filmachine


No comments: